City Preservation Awards

Preservation Awards 2014

The City of Fernandina Beach wishes to recognize the efforts of those involved in preserving our unique architectural resources through an awards program that is held every other year. Historic structures contribute to the identity of our community, and sensitive treatment of these resources ensure future residents and visitors will experience the same community character. Projects throughout the City are eligible, not just properties in the historic districts.

2014 Winners:

  • Ernie Saltmarsh/Nassau Trust for 801 Beech Street - First Place for Restoration/Rehabilitation
  • Foye Waldrip for 224 N. 3rd Street - First Place for New Construction
  • John M. Cotner, AIA - Preservation Champion
  • Lou + Susan Goldman for 23 S. 6th Street - Honorable Mention for New Construction
  • John Dodd, Architect for 229 S. 8th Street (Cormier Hair Studio) - Honorable Mention for Restoration/Rehabilitation
  • Miranda Architects for 225 N. 4th Street (St. Michael's Parish Hall) - Honorable Mention for New Construction
  • Hunter Residence at 909 Atlantic Avenue - Certificate of Appreciation for New Construction
  • John Dodd, Architect - Certificates of Appreciation for Storefront Facade Renovations at 520 Centre Street (Peppers) and 12 N. Front Street (Salty Pelican)
  • Parker Contracting for 1702 Atlantic Avenue - Certificate of Appreciation for Restoration/Rehabilitation
  • Cotner Associates, Inc. for 21 N. 3rd Street (Timoti's Seafood Shack) - Certificate of Appreciation for Sensitive Addition
View the award presentation here.

Preservation Awards 2012

2012 Winners:
  • Florida House Inn: 22 S. 3rd Street - First place - Restoration/Rehabilitation
  • Island Art Association: 18 N. 2nd Street - First place - New Construction
  • Miranda Architects: 31 S. 10th Street - Honorable Mention - Sensitive Addition
  • Madeline Richard: 227 S. 8th Street - Honorable Mention - Storefront Facade Renovation
  • George Stewart - Preservation Champion: Cultural Heritage for Sliders Renovation
  • Michael Harrison - Preservation Champion: Heritage Advocate for Old Town Bicentennial
  • Harvey Ward - Craftsmanship Award
View the award presentation here, and the press release here.

First Preservation Awards: 2010

The City hosted the first Preservation Awards in 2010. Our winners were:
  • The Amelia Island Museum of History for the restoration of the Nassau County Jail building.
  • Kenneth Smith Architects for the restoration of the Amelia Island Lighthouse.
  • The Germano family for restoration of the Amelia Dream Cars Building on 8th Street.
For more information, view the press release or the City Commission presentation.